Joined 28th Nov 2019
Forum Posts: 9

This is one of my favorite pencil sketches I have done..hope you like it

Andiew
Lost Thinker
Canada
Joined 28th Nov 2019

I was commissioned to paint 3 folk art paintings last summer...this is one of them...done in acrylic on canvas

JohnnyBlaze
Tyrant of Words
United States 23awards
Joined 20th Mar 2015
Forum Posts: 5572

Andiew said:This is one of my favorite pencil sketches I have done..hope you like it

Great on the shading and highlighting - you have a very firm grasp of dimension.

Andiew
Lost Thinker
Canada
Joined 28th Nov 2019

Thank you so much Johnny!  I am self taught and took only a half a dozen classes. Your comment is much appreciated.

JohnnyBlaze
Tyrant of Words
United States 23awards
Joined 20th Mar 2015

Andiew said:Thank you so much Johnny!  I am self taught and took only a half a dozen classes. Your comment is much appreciated.

I have no class, but that shouldn't come as a surprise to many around here.

Andiew
Lost Thinker
Canada
Joined 28th Nov 2019

Maybe not...but....you are funny!!  lol

poet Anonymous

A couple of wood burnings (pyrography) I’ve done today. Working on some Christmas gifts. ✌🏻

Ahavati
Tyrant of Words
United States 116awards
Joined 11th Apr 2015
Forum Posts: 14271

LOVE pyrography and those are beautiful! The butterfly almost looks 3-D from the perspective.  Andiew, very nice control of the graphic there! I agree with Johnny on depth comprehension. The painting is Frida Khalo'esque.  

The above is a biggie entitled The Reader:  4' x 6' oil and sumi ink on canvas commissioned by the director of our local library.  The colors match her handmade quilt.  

butters
Fire of Insight
United Kingdom 3awards
Joined 17th Sep 2019
Forum Posts: 868

Hi, Andiew! thanks for showing us your sketch and painting... is the guy in the sketch someone you know? the painting's bright and cheerful :D

butters
Fire of Insight
United Kingdom 3awards
Joined 17th Sep 2019

JohnnyBlaze said: