Go to page:

Is poetry art or therapy?

poet Anonymous

Perdition said:Poetry is  fever.

Yes.

Perdition said:Therapy is an inward campaign that stems from your spirit of life.

Fever is also an inward campaign. Especially if it's a passion.

Perdition said: It is the labor of fear, expressing distress until you are whole and desperate enough to be finally exposed.

Exposure is caused by spirit, is it not?

highwaytohell
Greg
Thought Provoker
South Africa
Joined 24th Sep 2015
Forum Posts: 449

Hi I'm Greg I'm new to this poetry deal but I'm willing to learn.Regarding the topic at hand poetry like all art is a form of therapy.The poems reflect what the poet thinks and feels.it could be an outburst.So in short one could argue actually on the broader scale of things that art asa whole is therapy

poet Anonymous

highwaytohell said:So in short one could argue actually on the broader scale of things that art as a whole is therapy

/\ this.

Gahddess_Worship
Osomajestuoso
Tyrant of Words
United States 37awards
Joined 21st Aug 2013
Forum Posts: 823

I think of poetry as artistic communication. A vehicle whereby we convey our ideas, perceptions, our innermost feelings to the world, however big or small our world may be. As the painter shares, visually, their ideas and perceptions with paint and brush we do so with words.

Because poetry is a conveyance of feeling I believe it is therapy as well. A baby cries out when hungry, tired, frightened or in pain. Likewise the poet cries out for love, justice, mercy, companionship, intimacy or just to be understood either by themselves or others. Poetry is a personal expression, an unburdening of the heart and soul and as such I tend to be less critical of artistic formulas and style.

case28
Alexander Case
Dangerous Mind
42awards
Joined 16th June 2013
Forum Posts: 2077

I think poetry is closer to masturbation than art...  And art galleries are nothing but brothels.

poet Anonymous