Ahavati
Tyrant of Words
United States
74awards   profile   poems   message
Joined 11th Apr 2015
Forum Posts: 3331

Tallen said:

100% agree

but in my past i've been told i write crap and i used to wear that shit like a badge!

After last year's DuNaPo April, i learned a lot.........about myself, about how others perceive me and my ink (even Vet Poets!!)
I found that it's a lot more difficult for me to rise out of the mire than it was to wallow.

Today, i kind of sort of think maybe i am a better writer but no way to truly know.........maybe i will never know as i am still at a crossroad of whether or not i WANT / need to be a Good writer.  I still have a book that i've been editing for 5 years - LOL!!  3 years ago i had 100+ followers ready to purchase said book and now probably only 10 faithful faithfully waiting.

You, butters, i see as a special writer (like Ahavati and JB and many others here).  Someone i can look at and try to understand and learn from

thank you for the vote of confidence, Tallen. xo  

And, NaPo ROCKS!  Reveals so much to writers about themselves. I was shocked to learn that DU had never sponsored a NaPo before we started.   Happy to have you on this year's team!

Tallen said:i get a lot of newbies who PM for help, advice, critique.
Why?  Why me and why in private?
Even when i try to direct them to the critique groups or other writers who i consider way more experienced than me they insist it has to be me!
Why?  To this day i am still baffled by this and it not just happens here in the Deep but other Poetry sites and even on Facebook.

So perhaps, public critique is something that most or many can't handle?  
After all, if it's public then all eyes are critiquing quietly, are they not?

I'm sure You all have experienced this, as well