Go to page:

Do you overlook people less advanced than you ?

poet Anonymous

<< post removed >>
Blackwolf
I.M.Blackwolf
Tyrant of Words
13awards
Joined 31st Mar 2018
Forum Posts: 3572

"My question is: do you more advanced writers overlook the less advanced when reading the poems ?"

No , I am always looking for new works / new poets when I have the

time , and I am more than happy to help them in any way I can...

Sometimes a new poet also inspires me through their thoughts in

their submitted poems , as they grow in their ability...

And do the less advanced writers feel out of their depths when reading the more experienced and advanced writers work ?

I would most sincerely hope not !

I could only hope it would challenge and inspire them !

And if they asked for feedback , or assistance , I would ,

and do my best , to follow through on those questions ;

Any poet here , is welcome to ask me for such !

poet Anonymous

I am an editor if ato  poetry ezine.  To be honest I tend to look more closely at the less advanced poets. I have found that advanced writers submit with expectations and egos.

spdred
spidey
Lost Thinker
Indonesia
Joined 14th Nov 2017
Forum Posts: 6

yo, i can't say that i'm "advanced" in any way, but since english is a native language to me, and since i've been exposed to english literature at a young age, i do recognize that i have an advantage.
having said that, a part of my ego always wants to overlook and undermine "less advanced" poets. but i make a conscious effort to put that aside, and try to recognize potential and heart. keeping track of people's progress and watching them grow is always amazing to me.