Go to page:

when do you get to call yourself a writer?

poet Anonymous

so a friend and i recently had a conversation about calling ourselves writers and musicians. both of us have the qualifications for both (qualifications meaning education/degree), but neither of us are 'professional' as it were. we're not well known musicians or published authors.

I've always considered myself a musician because i play/sing and perform in front of people on a regular basis. but writing...well, other than here and a couple of blogs, I've never been published.

i say I'm a writer, even if I've never been published. she says you can't claim that title unless you've been published. (i know, silly argument.)

so what say you? just curious.

lepperochan
Craic-Dealer
Guardian of Shadows
Palestine 67awards
Joined 1st Apr 2011
Forum Posts: 14449

a brick layer lays bricks, if he builds a wall on his own without anyone seeing him the wall is still there, and brick layers rarley sign their walls

johnrot
Tyrant of Words
21awards
Joined 10th Oct 2012
Forum Posts: 3645

i'm an alcoholic with 9 toes,

and sometimes people like the stuff i say,

so i think it's up to them....

but i'm cool with the previous title.

MadameLavender
Guardian of Shadows
United States 86awards
Joined 17th Feb 2013
Forum Posts: 5594

I think that whatever your calling in life is, you get to "call" yourself;  I have a BS in clinical lab science, so yes, I can call myself a lab tech, but I also teach college classes and do seamstress work on the side, both of which I have no formal training or degree for, yet I can still call myself a teacher or a seamstress, because if I accomplish those in a positive manner, get someone to learn something, create some incredible things with my sewing machine, then it doesn't matter what your talents are--you can call yourself by them, regardless of a man-made degree or "kudos" or some certification saying you can do this, or this is you.

poet Anonymous